Connect with us


Man Utd legend Wayne Rooney picks his England XI for World Cup 2022 including two shock names

WAYNE ROONEY has revealed his England XI for the World Cup… and there a couple of shocks in there.

The Manchester United legend, 37, is currently the manager of MLS side DC United.

Rooney’s England team for the World Cup

But with the American season coming to an end recently, Rooney will have some time off to watch the Three Lions in Qatar.

And speaking to talkSPORT on Friday morning, England‘s record goalscorer gave his starting line-up for the tournament.

Rooney has decided to go with a 4-2-3-1 formation despite the possibility of Gareth Southgate opting for a back three to give England some extra solidity in defence.

There were no shocks when it came to the keeper, with the ex-Everton striker selecting Jordan Pickford in between the sticks.

He then picked Man Utd duo Luke Shaw and Harry Maguire in the back line, along with John Stones.

But Rooney shocked a few people by selecting Trent Alexander-Arnold ahead of Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker at right-back.

He has then gone for a defensive midfield consisting of Declan Rice and Kalvin Phillips, despite the Manchester City man having played just once since the middle of September.

But Jude Bellingham has not been snubbed by Rooney, with the England legend opting to pick the Borussia Dortmund man as a No10.


He has then gone with Phil Foden and Bukayo Saka ahead of Raheem Sterling as the two wide players, with Harry Kane leading the line.

Kane is just two goals behind Rooney’s Three Lions record of 53.

England kick off their World Cup campaign against Iran on November 21.

They then face USA on November 25, before their final group match against Wales on November 29.

England’s squad for the World Cup finals in Qatar

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Football