Connect with us


Exact worth of World Cup trophy revealed as it’s officially the most valuable prize in football

THE WORLD CUP is officially the most valuable trophy in football.

It has always been worth its weight in gold and now we know exactly what that is.

The coveted Jules Rimet trophy is valued at £227,000 at today’s prices
France are the current World Cup holders

Boffins at Refinitiv Metals Research have worked out that the coveted Jules Rimet trophy is valued at £227,000 at today’s prices.

It is made up of 6.175 kilograms of 18 carat gold, the equivalent of 4.93kg of the pure stuff. 

If England captain Harry Kane were to steal it after lifting it he could have it melted down and flog it for about a week’s wages on the market.

The World Cup easily outstrips Uefa’s top two cups on value which are the Europa League Trophy and Champions League trophies – worth around £8k and £4K respectively.

Spokesman for Refinitiv Metals Research Federico Gay said: “While the trophy is considered to be priceless by many, its melt-value compared to other major sports trophies places it at the top of the league.

“Although the gloomy economic environment this year has weighed on gold, price levels remain high compared with the period between 2012 and 2018 so if the winning team is feeling the pinch in this economic environment, they could well leave Qatar with a bit of extra cash in their back pockets.”

England’s World Cup campaign starts on Monday against Iran.

Gareth Southgate’s European finalists will also have to fend off challenges from Wales and USA to top Group B.


The group will not be an easy task with all three of England’s opponents ranking inside Fifa’s top 20.

A knockout route to the final will be more tricky than England’s run to the semi’s in 2018.

Top the group and it’ll be the runners-up from Group A, which will be one of Qatar, Holland, Senegal or Ecuador.

A quarter-final date with France could happen should England get through the opening knockout round.

And if England match their 2018 finish they could meet the likely winners of Groups F and H – Belgium or Portugal.

After reaching the World Cup final as group winners, 2010 winners Spain, 2014 champions Germany or five-time winners Brazil may be waiting.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Football