Connect with us


EPL: Freekick was taken already – Referee’s decision on Ronaldo’s goal against Newcastle questioned

Football pundit, Sam Matterface, has opined that referee Graig Pawson was wrong to have disallowed Cristiano Ronaldo’s goal for Manchester United during their Premier League clash with Newcastle United on Sunday.

Pawwas decided to book the Portuguese after the 37-year-old thought he had broken the deadlocks in the early minutes of the second half.

The Portuguese icon scored the bizarre goal after taking the ball off the Newcastle goalkeeper Nick Pope in the middle of the pitch.

However, Pawson blew his whistle to bring back play and let the visitors take the free-kick that they were initially awarded for an earlier offside.

But Ronaldo and his teammates protested the referee’s decision and argued that the free-kick had already been taken.

Matterface said, “That free-kick was taken. That free-kick was taken by somebody else. Ronaldo’s telling Fabian Schar and said ‘You touched that back to Nick Pope.’ And he did!

“I think that’s quite generous to Newcastle United. It’s sloppy play from Nick Pope and Fabian Schar, who I think had already taken the free-kick.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Sport