Connect with us


England head home from Qatar with World Cup trophy as Gareth Southgate’s Three Lions win Fair Play award

ENGLAND will get a trophy from the World Cup in Qatar, even if is not the big one they wanted.

The Three Lions have been awarded the Fair Play Trophy as they had the best disciplinary record during the tournament.

England won the Fair Play Trophy at the World Cup
The Three Lions received one booking throughout the competition
Harry Maguire picked up the booking against France in the quarter-finals

Argentina won the World Cup after a scintillating final against France in which penalties were needed to separate the two sides.

Lionel Messi netted twice while Kylian Mbappe fired in a hat-trick as they put everything into the match.

Before the handing out of the trophy, other awards were given out for efforts made during the tournament.

While Messi and Mbappe won the Golden Ball and Golden Boot respectively, Enzo Fernandez and Emi Martinez won the Young Player of the Tournament and Golden Glove.

However, there was one more award to be handed out as England won the Fair Play Trophy.

Gareth Southgate’s side only picked up one booking as they battled to the quarter-finals before their defeat to France.

That booking went to defender Harry Maguire, who was cautioned after an elbow to Antonie Griezmann in the 90th minute of the game.

Some fans on social media saw the funny side of the award, as one tweeted: “It came home after all”.


A second added: “When’s the bus parade?”

A third commented: “Every cloud, eh…”

England manager Southgate was earlier confirmed that he would be staying on until Euro 2024.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Football