Connect with us


Who will be giving out the World Cup trophy?

ARGENTINA or France will be leave Qatar with the World Cup trophy after tonight’s epic final.

And Messi can have a fairy-tale ending to his international career as the Argentine legend is set to call it quits once the tournament is over.

Lionel Messi is hoping to bow out of international football with a World Cup winners medal

But no matter who wins the title, FIFA is set to enforce some strict rules that only allow a select few to hand over the trophy.

Find out who that is below…

Who is giving out the World Cup trophy?

The entire FIFA committee is involved when it comes to awards ceremonies after the match.

This year, the emir of Qatar, Tanim bin Hamad Al Thani will give out the medals along with UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin and CONEMBOL boss Alejandro Dominguez.

However, only FIFA’s president Gianni Infantino can deliver the World Cup trophy to the winners.

England legend David Beckham is the official World Cup ambassador and will also give out the medals.

Why can nobody else touch the trophy?

The trophy is under 24-hour water-tight security and only people present on a specific list are allowed to handle it.

This is due to the Jules Rimet being stolen at the 1966 World Cup before being found by Pickles the dog.

And it was stolen again by thieves in 1983.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Football