Connect with us


How many of England’s 1966 World Cup winning team are still alive?

ENGLAND defeated West Germany 4-2 to win the World Cup in thrilling fashion in 1966 at Wembley Stadium.

It was the first and only time the Three Lions have won football’s biggest prize.

Captain Bobby Moore lifts the World Cup trophy at Wembley

And the Three Lions are in mourning after another member of their winning team has died, with the news of the passing of George Cohen.

He won 37 England caps as an attacking right-back.

He also made 459 appearances for Fulham, and was born just over a mile away from Craven Cottage.

Fulham confirmed the sad news on Twitter.

It read: “Everyone at Fulham Football Club is deeply saddened to learn of the passing of one of our greatest ever players – and gentlemen – George Cohen MBE.”

England’s World Cup 1966 team with manager Alf Ramsey

How many England 1966 World Cup winners are still alive?

Two members of England’s World Cup winning team from 1966 are still alive.

They are Sir Bobby Charlton and Sir Geoff Hurst.

In the 1966 World Cup, initially only the 11 players who played received medals.

Gordon Banks – goalkeeper died aged 81 in 2019

George Cohen – right-back died aged 83 in 2022

Ray Wilson – left-back died aged 83 in 2018

Nobby Stiles – defensive midfielder died aged 78 in 2020

Jack Charlton – defender died aged 85 in 2020

Bobby Moore – defender died aged 51 in 1993

Alan Ball – midfielder died aged 61 in 2007

Martin Peters – midfielder died aged 76 in 2019

Roger Hunt – forward died aged 83 in 2021

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Football