Connect with us


World Cup 2022 top scorers: Who is leading the race for the Golden Boot so far?

GET your flags out as the World Cup is well underway – and some players will be targeting more than just the big trophy.

Brazil, France, Argentina, Germany, England and others will all be vying to win the sport’s biggest prize in Qatar.

Harry Kane won the World Cup 2018 Golden Boot

However, stars such as Kylian Mbappe, Harry Kane, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will want a certain individual award.

The World Cup Golden Boot is one of the tournament’s most coveted prizes, with some of football’s legends having won it in the past.

Brazilian Ronaldo, Gary Lineker, Gerd Muller and Eusebio have all picked up the award before.

England’s Harry Kane won it in 2018, and he’ll be hoping to do it all over again in Qatar.

France’s Karim Benzema, who won the Ballon d’Or earlier this year, WON’T be involved, however, as he has been ruled out of the tournament through injury.

But Brazil superstars Neymar and Vinicius Jr will be eager to bring the award back to the South American country.

In 2006 and 2010, Germany stars Miroslav Klose and Thomas Muller bagged the Golden Boot.

Colombia superstar James Rodriguez won it in 2014 but he won’t be involved in this tournament as his country failed to qualify.

Who has scored this week?

Ecuador’s Enner Valencia got off to the perfect start having bagged a double on the World Cup opener against the hosts Qatar.

Jude Bellingham, Raheem Sterling, Marcus Rashford and Jack Grealish all grabbed themselves a goal for England.

Arsenal talisman Bukayo Saka stole the headlines as he became the youngest ever player to score a double in their first World Cup match.

Olivier Giroud then equalled Thierry Henry’s record of 51 goals for France with a brace against Australia.

World Cup Golden Boot standings

*Correct as of November 22 – 9pm

  1. Bukayo Saka – England – 2
  2. Olivier Giroud – France – 2
  3. Mehdi Taremi – Iran – 2
  4. Enner Valencia – Ecuador – 2
  5. Jude Bellingham – England – 1
  6. Marcus Rashford – England – 1
  7. Jack Grealish – England – 1
  8. Kylian Mbappe – France – 1
  9. Gareth Bale – Wales – 1
  10. Lionel Messi – Argentina – 1

Click to comment

Leave a Reply


Must See


More in Football