Copa America 2019: Need to know

Here’s our guide to the 46th Copa America…
Where is the tournament being held?
The hosts are Brazil.
The venues for the games will be at Salvador, Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Belo Horizonte and Porto Alegre with the opening game held at the Estádio do Morumbi in São Paulo, the semi-finals will be held at the Arena do Grêmio in Porto Alegre and Estádio Mineirão in Belo Horizonte.
The final will be held on 7 July at the Estádio do Maracanã in Rio de Janeiro.
READ: City’s 2019/20 fixtures revealed
READ: World Cup Daily: Lionesses target knock-out stage

Which countries are competing?
There are 12 countries competing. They are in three groups of four…
Group A: Brazil, Bolivia, Venezuela, Peru
Group B: Argentina, Colombia, Paraguay, Qatar
Group C: Uruguay, Ecuador, Japan, Chile
How many City players have been selected?
City will be well represented at Copa America 2019 with five players taking part.
Brazil coach Tite has called up Ederson, Fernandinho and Gabriel Jesus.
Argentina coach Lionel Scaloni has selected Sergio Aguero and Nicolas Otamendi.

POSTER BOY: Sergio Aguero

When are our players playing?
The group game dates are as follows:
14 June: Brazil v Bolivia
15 June: Argentina v Colombia
18 June: Brazil v Venezuela
19 June: Argentina v Paraguay
22 June: Brazil v Peru
23 June: Argentina v Qatar
Brazil is four hours behind the UK.

GENERAL MOTORS: Nicolas Otamendi

How come Qatar and Japan are competing?
Japan and Qatar are competing by invitation.
This will be Qatar’s first Copa America, while Japan have competed once before in 1999.
Regular CONCACAF competitors Mexico and the United States will not be taking part this time.

BLUES BROTHERS: Fernandinho takes on Gab J

Where can I watch the games?
In the UK, Premier Sports will be televising all 26 matches.
There will be reports on of each game our players are involved in.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: